Tzatziki!

For those of you stumped by my title, this entry is dedicated to an absolutely yummy sauce/dip I am quite familiar with. Tzatziki is a yogurt, cucumber and mint condiment. It can either be thick (my preference – a great dip!) or thinner, what you sometimes find in Greek restaurants. Shira asked if I had a good recipe for tzatziki, so I thought I’d just do a little blog entry. I have to say, I feel a lot like Eggface with this post.


So, this recipe is just from Byblos, a great greek cookbook that I think is no longer in print. Tzatziki is definitely something that’s easily adjustable – if you like more garlic, go for it…if you like it with a little heat, my dad sometimes adds just a teeny bit of pepper (serrano, etc) chopped up very fine to the mix.

2 cups Laban or Yogurt*
1/2 cup chopped cucumber
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp dried leaf mint or 1/2 tbsp fresh mint, chopped**
1 clove garlic, crushed

Combine all ingredients, blending well!

*Laban is thickened yogurt. A lot like Fage, which is what I’d recommend using if you can’t find laban. Also, Fage is higher in protein than laban or regular yogurt.
** I prefer fresh mint…And, FYI, 1 tsp of dried herbs equals 1 tbsp of fresh herbs.

Oh, and if anyone else is a fan of Greek and Arabic foods, the Byblos cookbook is a great resource, as is Sahtein.

About nomnivorous

A food enthusiast who cooks, bakes and eats it all... And if it happens to be cute, it's even more likely to be eaten by this nomnivore!
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

