I am the definition of grace and intelligence in the kitchen

Yeah friggin right.

So, the beef in cabernet – since it was stew beef and slow cooked for a solid 12 hours, it definitely turned into a wine stew of sorts. I wanted to reduce the wine sauce and help eliminate some of the alcoholic flavor of the wine, so I dumped it into a large pot from the slow cooker and turned the stove eye on. On for less than five minutes, I notice that some of the shredded beef, onions, carrots, celery deliciousness are already stuck to the bottom of the pan. >.< I figure I still need to reduce it, so might as well go for it. I add cornstarch mixed with broth to the mixture, bring it to a boil and let it simmer for a bit.

I do realize I could let it cook longer and get thicker, but by now, I’m just ready to be done. So, after it’s cooled for a few minutes, start to transfer it to plastic containers. Boy am I smart when I try to pour a whole pot of stew into a container made to hold MAYBE half of the contents. It takes the container completely spilling over for me to realize this, and I don’t think I’ve made a bigger mess.

Plus, the whole bottom of the pan is nicely scorched on. I pray I just didn’t scrape too much off to give the whole freakin stew that lovely burnt flavor. It’s finally in 4 small containers, cooling before I stick most of them in the freezer. God I’m glad the one roommate that had been around left to run for a while. I did NOT want anyone to see me being a complete retard.

About nomnivorous

A food enthusiast who cooks, bakes and eats it all... And if it happens to be cute, it's even more likely to be eaten by this nomnivore!
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

