Mmm…asparagus!

Someone asked me for the recipe on Facebook, and by the time I had typed it up in the reply to comment box, it was too long to post. So I’m throwing it up here. After I made turkey croquettes/meatballs, I was going to make something curry-esque with chickpeas, but I had a VERY old bunch of asparagus chillin in the fridge and knew they needed to be dealt with. The turkey croquettes are a tad on the dry side (they’re made with ground breast meat), so I wanted something a bit saucy.

I just sort of made it up on the fly… My roommate made some amazing honey dijon green beans last night, so I was inspired by her.

I had already cut up onions and garlic (for that scrapped Indian dish). So I threw them in the pan with olive oil and let them get very soft and delicious. I was going for “caramelized” but they got a bit darker quicker than I wanted (yeah, I’m impatient).

Add the asparagus to the pan – I cut the spears in half, feel free to do whatever. Season well with salt and pepper. Let them saute with the onions and garlic for a bit – not too long, you don’t want mushy asparagus at the end.

Then I just eye-balled water, dijon mustard and honey. It was probably about a half-cup of water, and a few tablespoons each of the mustard and honey. Let it come to a boil, and simmer. It’s going to look thin at first, but reducing it by simmering gets it nice and thick, and the honey helps fantastically. Mine was probably a little sweet by the end, but the asparagus were more done than I normally go for, so I didn’t want to keep them in the pan.

I threw some sliced almonds in at the end basically because my roommate had them left over from her green beans last night. Yum!

– – – – –

Also, here’s an incredibly easy idea for asparagus. This is what I normally do. So tasty! Basically, trim the ends of the spears, throw on a cookie sheet, add olive oil and salt and pepper and toss together. You want everything coated, but not soaked, and season liberally. Throw in the oven ~450, or even on broil. Don’t touch them – the more you move veggies, the less brown they get – for a little bit. Cook until the desired tenderness.

– – – – –

Oh, since I’m doing a cooking blog at the moment, mmm turkey croquettes/meatballs. Thank you Shira’s grandmother! I took the basic idea that I got from Shira and her gma, and changed it a bit. These are really tasty, neutral balls o’ protein that I figure I can pair with something like that Indian chickpea dish, or top with tomato sauce and cheese, or whatever.

1 lb ground turkey breast
1 egg
1 cup protein chips “bread crumbs” – I grind up Kay’s Natural’s parmesan crisps
A chunk of onion, a couple of garlic cloves
1/4-1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2-3/4 tsp salt, a hearty sprinkle (1/4-1/2 tsp?) red pepper flakes

In different stages/cups, I do these steps with my magic bullet blender: grind protein chips. Puree onion and garlic. “Beat” egg.

Add everything together in a bowl, and mix well. Form into small balls, patties, whatever – I normally make “patties” smaller than a hamburger, bigger than a meatball, but today I made balls. For me, I think it made about 28 balls, but at the rate I’ve been snacking on them, I can’t give you a definite answer. In a pan with a nice coating of olive oil heated to medium-high, brown well. Voila, you’re done!

Oh, and a trick Shira suggested when we first made these this summer: We weren’t sure if we had seasoned enough (we used italian seasoning in them, which is a great choice), so we just cooked up a bite or two of it and went from there. You can always remix more of whatever it’s lacking and trial cook again or just go for it.

About nomnivorous

A food enthusiast who cooks, bakes and eats it all... And if it happens to be cute, it's even more likely to be eaten by this nomnivore!
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

