baked sunday mornings: sweet & salty brownies

This weekend has been quite an interesting one. My Saturday was spent doing something I hadn’t expected. Not only was it last minute, but in general I didn’t imagine it happening in my life anytime soon. Hopefully I’ll be able to share with you the results of the day soon. But once it was all done, this brownie baking assignment was very welcome.

But, as you can tell, my photography skills are back at a low point. For the last few weeks, my lovely roommate B has let me use her camera. Unfortunately for me, she is spending two weeks in Florida [how nice, right?!] and so is her camera. So, for now we will have cell phone pictures played with on Photobucket. My apologies. Hopefully, my wish will be granted and I’ll have a camera of my own by the new year.

But these brownies? These are good. They are sweet. They are salty. They aren’t quite as ooey gooey as I expected, but I think that’s part of my fault realize that the caramel cooks into the brownie some. See, these brownies have layer of salted caramel between the brownie batter. And the cookbook is very good about directions, and there are three parts of this recipe that are NOT TO BE IGNORED:

  • Line your pan with parchment paper. And butter the parchment.
  • Watch the caramel. It will turn black when you turn your back, no matter how quick you think you are.
  • When pouring drizzling the caramel on, avoid the edges of the pan. The caramel will ooze and burn in the oven.

I only greased my pan. I made the caramel twice, having a blackened pot of hot goo on my hands the first time. [Caramel can be made without a thermometer, it’s not that scary!] And I think my caramel spreading and batter topping was a bit wonky, because the caramel bubbled out and around the edges. This also caused the brownies to be cut and pried out a bit, especially without parchment.

But you know what? That’s actually just as delicious, because your brownie edges are further chewy, caramelized and delicious.

The recipe can be found on the Baked Sunday Morning blog, but for now, I leave you with photos of my ingredients. As with the first recipe, I halved the brownie recipe, making one 8×6″ pan.

The makings of caramel: sugar, two amounts of heavy cream [the bowl should have been sour cream, but I improvised], corn syrup and fleur de sel.

The start of the brownies: butter and Guittard dark chocolate chips [63%] are melted together.

Mmm, sweet: brown and white sugars, two eggs and one yolk [instead of doing a “half” egg], and my new favorite ingredient, Nielson-Massey vanilla bean paste get whisked into the buttery chocolate.

Bring it all together: Flour, cocoa and salt are sprinkled on top of the chocolate mixture and lightly folded in with a spatula.

Layer half the batter into your lined, greased pan, drizzle 3/8 cup caramel [or 3/4 if making whole batch], on top, spoon the rest of the batter on top, bake at 350 for 35-55 minutes [the recipe says 30-40, but my brownies took at least 10 minutes longer to leave a slightly crumby toothpick].

Make yourself some easy spiced caramel popcorn while it bakes [extra delicious with stovetop popped corn and this caramel, adding some red pepper flakes and cinnamon], sprinkle the brownies with some fleur de sel and coarse sugar, let cool completely, and share with friends on a lovely Sunday afternoon.

About nomnivorous

A food enthusiast who cooks, bakes and eats it all... And if it happens to be cute, it's even more likely to be eaten by this nomnivore!
This entry was posted in baked sunday mornings, baking, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to baked sunday mornings: sweet & salty brownies

  1. Desiree says:

    great idea about the popcorn! i’ll have to try that. love your platter.

    • nomnivorous says:

      Thanks, Desiree! The platter is from Target, but it was one of their special collections – Liberty of London. I’ll have to use that plate and my similar platter more often.

      The popcorn is delicious, and it’s sort of barely caramelized, since I used a lot of popcorn. A more amped up kettle corn, you could call it.

  2. Sandy says:

    I love the vintage look to this post-and I really like how you think,making up a batch of spicy caramel corn-yum !

  3. Bri says:

    Your brownies look great! And, not that I’m glad you had a hard time getting your brownies out of the pan, but at least now we know that these brownies are officially impossible to mess up! Even when you go against the book, they turn out delicious!

Leave a Reply

