baked sunday morning: red velvet love

My love of the Baked cookbook keeps me going on the Baked Sunday Morning challenge. A few days late, a week late, I still enjoy baking and writing about the recipes chosen. The Red Velvet Whoopie Pies from last week’s challenge is no different. They’re the perfect love child of desserts from the South and New England: cakey whoopie pies filled with cream, but with the twang of cream cheese and chocolate bite of red velvet.

A fellow Southern transplant and friend Lara was hosting brunch on Saturday, giving me the perfect excuse to bake these. The red velvet seemed like a a great match for Alabama roots, but once I arrived at her apartment, I discovered she als o adores whoopie pies.  Fate, I tell you!

And these whoopies? They’re perfect little bites of love. I used my favorite scooper to portion out baby whoopies. The recipe made me around 35 mini whoopie pies, with more than enough cream cheese frosting to fill them and have some extra. You know, for icing a small cake… Or eating straight with a spoon. What, don’t judge. When it comes to Baked recipes, this one was another straightforward one, not at all daunting. So give Baked Sunday Morning some love and go get the recipe. Make these for your next brunch, party, or just to pack in your significant other’s lunch. They’ll be shouting whoopie for you!

About nomnivorous

A food enthusiast who cooks, bakes and eats it all... And if it happens to be cute, it's even more likely to be eaten by this nomnivore!
This entry was posted in baked sunday mornings, baking, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to baked sunday morning: red velvet love

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention baked sunday morning: red velvet love | nomnivorous -- Topsy.com

  2. Lara Ruth says:

    Sooooo good. I’m heartbroken the leftovers are gone 😦 I’ll have to make a batch!

Leave a Reply

